You are here

About the Directorate Page

Directorate of Drugs Control, Odisha, Bhubaneswar is functioning in the first floor of the building located near Press Chhak between Sainik School and Nalco Square. It’s administrative Wing at Bhubaneswar consisting of One Drugs Controller, two Dy. Drugs Controllers, three Asst. Drugs Controllers and two Drugs Inspectors. The Drugs Controller, Odisha is the Controlling Authority and Head of the Department. He is also the Licensing Authority of the State for licenses to manufacture for sale of Allopathic drugs, Homoeopathic drugs and Cosmetics and Licensing Authority for sale licences of 17 nos. of ranges other than those coming under Western Zone & South Zone.  There are two zonal offices namely Dy. Drugs Controller (South Zone) situated at Berhampur and Dy. Drugs Controller (West Zone) situated at Sambalpur. The Dy. Drugs Controller (South Zone), Berhampur is the Licensing Authority for sale licences for 12 nos. of Range offices and Dy. Drugs Controller (West Zone), Sambalpur is the Licensing Authority for sale licences for 11 nos. of Range offices and Dy. Drugs Controller (Administration) is delegated with power to sign licences pertaining to sale licences of Homoeopathic and Allopathic drugs for remaining 17 nos. of Range offices. There are 40(Forty) range offices of Drugs Inspectors in the State under the administrative control of the Drugs Controller.

  1. This organization is functioning mainly with two wings (i) Administrative wing, (ii) Testing wing.
  2. The administrative wing functions with:- One Drugs Controller, 4 Dy. Drugs Controller, 4 Asst. Drugs Controllers & 44 Drugs Inspectors and have two zonal offices at Berhampur and Sambalpur with 40 range offices.
  3. The Testing wing (i.e. State Drug Testing & Research Laboratory, Odisha, Bhubaneswar) functions with:- One Principal Scientific Officer, 3 Senior Scientific Officer, 12 Junior Scientific Officer & 27 Senior Laboratory Assistants

Functions undertaken by State Government

Statutory Functions

  1. Licensing of drug manufacturing and sales establishments.
  2. Licensing of Drug Testing Laboratories.
  3. Approval of Drug Formulations for Manufacture.
  4. Monitoring of quality of Drugs & Cosmetics, manufactured by State Units and those marketed in the State.
  5. Investigation and prosecution in respect of contravention of legal provisions.
  6. Administrative Actions.
  7. Pre and Post-Licensing Inspections.
  8. Recall of Not of Standard Quality/ Spurious/ Misbranded/ Adulterated/ Prohibited Drugs.
  9. Sampling of Drugs & Cosmetics for Test or Analysis to ascertain their quality.
  10. Verification of labels of Drugs & Cosmetics.
  11. Verification of utilisation of Narcotic drugs in licensed premises.
  12. Verification of prices of both scheduled and non-scheduled formulations under D.P.C.O.-2013.
  13. Grant / Renewal of Blood Bank licences to Govt. institutions as well as to Private Hospitals.
  14. Approval of Blood Storage Centres.
  15. Grant of N.D.P.S.-1 & N.D.P.S-2 Licences for manufactured and sale of Narcotic drug formulations (Allopathic & Ayurvedic containing Narcotic drugs).
indiagov dialgov odisha gov in govt edespatch

Location Map

Contact us